Weekend Indulgence

Its all about finding the balance.  The vegetables with your cheese plate; don’t torture yourself eating what you don’t like.  Its not worth it.

Just for fun: here’s a bit of what I ate this weekend. This weekend was an unusual case for me, because I wasn’t with the Mister and didn’t have any big plans.  It was a great opportunity to just snuggle up with the dog, and enjoy a relaxing time to de-stress.

Breakfast on Saturday was two fried eggs over some leftover mashed cauliflower.  I crisped up some fresh sage leaves in olive oil, and then sprinkled parmesan over the whole thing.  It looks fancy, and I think that’s all the more reason why I liked it.  If you plopped eggs and cauliflower mash on a paper plate, it would be a blob of boring white.  Make food you want to eat and bonus points for making it pretty.

049

Saturday afternoon I enjoyed this fruit bowl [apples, grapes, and banana] topped with apple pie spice and some cashew butter.  I put half of what I made in the bowl to be eaten, and the other half was saved for Sunday.

I had cheese, tea, some more fruit, and then a lot more cheese.  Between the two days I definitely ate a lot of cheese and crackers.  Hey I wasn’t cooking for anyone else, and I like cheese.  My solution to preventing myself from eating way too much was to cut a few pieces, put it on a plate and then pack up the rest.  Its just like the old trick of portioning out chips or pretzels, don’t let yourself have the whole bag sitting open in front of you.

058

This weekend I finally got to enjoy a few beers I had picked up a week or so ago from the Fresh Market.  This Bells Christmas Ale was really good, so was the Sierra Nevada Coffee Stout.  Beer and cheese, cheese and beer.  I mostly just snacked for dinner.

Sunday morning I made this Pumpkin Spice quick bread that had been gifted to me for Chanukah.  I added some crushed walnuts and ginger, mostly because I was afraid the batter was too sweet.  It came out so moist and perfectly spice balanced.  We enjoyed it warm with cream cheese, and scrambled eggs for some healthy balance.

103.JPGNow this beauty I’m pretty proud of.  A used a whole wheat tortilla and some shredded cheese left over from my casserole, combined with leftover brisket and carrots from a weeknight dinner.  Brisket quesadilla, with sour cream on top.  I really liked this one.

082I followed all that up with a super fantastic trip to Trader Joes, and prepped breakfasts and lunch for this entire week.  Its okay to eat cheese all weekend if you follow it up with some whole, nutritious foods and protein power muffins.

Leave a Reply

