Quick and Easy: Flatbread Pizza

I’m a fan of easy to make meals; not necessarily convenience foods, but rather meals that can come together with just a few steps.

A few months ago I had picked up Flat Out wraps at Hannaford, and really liked the chewy texture and nutritional info.  When I saw the brand also made a pizza crust, I really wanted to give it a go.

Flat Out Pizza Crust

Flat Out Pizza Crust

So with a package of these already in the pantry, Mister and I picked up some basic ingredients at Trader Joes while doing our regular Sunday grocery shopping.

052

4 Cheese blend (shredded), some sad tomatoes, small hunk of whole milk mozzarella, and a jar of pesto.

We all know that feeling, when you’ve just spent over an hour grocery shopping and putting everything away; the last thing you want to do is make a big mess of the kitchen with something complicated.  These flatbread pizzas were the perfect compromise.

Pizza in Progress

Pizza in Progress

I lined sheet pans with foil, and then topped each flatbread (we started with one per person) with pesto, thinly sliced tomatoes, mozzarella, and then the shredded cheese.  I baked them at 350 until the cheese was melty.  They were pretty great.  Crunchy, crispy thin crust.  Salty cheese, oily pesto.

Then we made a third flatbread, and I decided to crank the oven to 450 and double the toppings.

Second version.

Second version.

Worth it.

We cut the flatbreads into easy to grab squares, and I had mine with a Southern Tier Warlock.   Don’t judge me, it was still Halloween weekend!!

Southern Tier Warlock

Southern Tier Warlock

It was lazy, and it was just enough.  I’m inspired to start thinking of other toppings we might be able to try with these flatbread bases.

Leave a Reply

