Habits

The more I cook, the more I want to cook.

The less I cook, the less I want to be bothered with big meals or complicated recipes.  I know I’ll enjoy it when I throw myself back into it, but for now I’ve fallen off the planning, prepping, preparing bandwagon of enjoying my meals.  There’s the new job, staying in someone else’s house, and the new routine; for right now, cooking just isn’t part of it.

The thing that gets me though, is I always got excited about meals I prepared.  When someone else is constantly cooking for you, or you eat out more often; food loses some of its appeal in a sense.  Lately I crave things like a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, toast with a fried egg; things that are easy and basic.

Do you eat more when you cook for yourself?  Does cooking make you want to cook more?

One thought on “Habits

  1. This winter we’ve been eating things like chicken snack wraps, bean and cheese wraps, hummus toast, fried egg and cheese sandwiches, and big salads. A lot less soup and bread than we have in previous winters.

    Today I’m totally craving deviled eggs. I don’t know why.

    And on Valentine’s Day I totally did not want to cook, so we went out someplace simple and it was great.

    Sometimes the best meals are those that AREN’T time-consuming and fussy.

Leave a Reply

