New Years 2014

New Years is a time of resolutions, reflection, maybe regrets. Instead of looking too hard at the past year, or swearing to some strict resolutions, this year I wanted to just appreciate the moment. That very moment when it’s midnight, delirious from trying to stay up; for that one second anything is possible.

The entire year of missed opportunities, failures, accidents, burnt dinners, forgotten workouts; all gone in a second. That one very moment where it’s just happiness and champagne, that’s why New Year’s Eve is special. That’s what I wanted to celebrate.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/41d/62537768/files/2015/01/img_5860.jpg

While our dinner at home was a celebration, the afternoon felt heavy while I mourned the ending of a phase in my life. This new year brings a new job, and I can’t believe my work family from the ship can’t come with me. It hasn’t quite settled in yet. My Monday lunch crew, the volunteers, interns, ladders, portholes. They will always exist as my Albany family, and I already look forward to visits as much as any holiday.

Mister sweetly brought me flowers towards the end of my last day, sitting with me for my last coffee. Reminding me of all the reasons we have a great year coming.

To close out 2014 we had a perfect dinner. It was on point, including new recipes and standby flavors.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/41d/62537768/files/2015/01/img_5876.jpg

Steaks from Cardonas.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/41d/62537768/files/2015/01/img_5866.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/41d/62537768/files/2015/01/img_5865.jpg
My first attempt at from scratch scalloped potatoes.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/41d/62537768/files/2015/01/img_5872.jpg

Brussel sprouts with balsamic and pancetta.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/41d/62537768/files/2015/01/img_5869.jpg

Mushroom-Beef gravy.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/41d/62537768/files/2015/01/img_5874.jpg

We even managed to have everything ready for the plate at the same time. A year or so ago, that wouldn’t have happened. Who knows what I might pull off next year.

Leave a Reply

