Never Arrive Empty Handed

After an invite to a BBQ came my way, I started browsing cook books and websites for something to bring.

Then reality struck and I realized I was working the day before, and the day of the cookout (and the day after if that really matters). So I needed something with either ingredients I had or could quickly grab on my way home from work, something that could be made a day ahead, and something that was summery, shareable, and relatively healthy.

I decided on two solutions: peach-strawberry salsa, and a guacamole. Both could be made ahead of time, quickly, and served easily with tortilla chips.

For the salsa I diced some overripe peaches, strawberries that had lingered a little too long, onion (less is more with this salsa), seeded jalapeño, and a bit of tomato. I added lime juice, garlic, and cinnamon for a sweet and savory dip.

IMG_3995.JPG

IMG_3996.JPG

IMG_3991.JPG

IMG_3993.JPG

For the guacamole I cheated a bit. Very ripe avocado mashed with fat free Greek yogurt and spicy Rotel tomatoes.

IMG_4002.JPG

IMG_3998.JPG

IMG_3999.JPG

IMG_4001.JPG

I love these Rubbermaid brand food containers; they’re glass so they look pretty for serving and don’t stain. But I do find that the lids don’t deal great unless you only fill them less than halfway. (Hello design flaw) For these particular recipes I put a piece of Glad Press and Seal right into the surface of the food and then put the lids on. Hopefully this will prevent leakage as well as browning, within reason.

Leave a Reply

