Dinner on the Table

Back from the shipyard, back into a routine. I stopped at the grocery store before collapsing on the couch for a few hours to make sure there would be meals yesterday and today.

Mister’s work schedule is slightly later than out usual, so I took the opportunity to work on my cooking timing. To clarify I usually have the problem where my sides are getting cold and the meat is still raw. Or we’re all starving and waiting for the pasta water to boil.

But I’m improving.

20140523-072731-26851692.jpg

I started the rice first. It was brown rice, and I’m notoriously terrible at making rice. As in I always use instant rice. BUT I’m trying dear blog readers I promise, so this was real, brown rice. I cooked it with garlic powder and added a hearty helping of cheese at the end.

With the rice started, I put the Salmon in a semi preheated oven. It was wrapped in foil, with lemons, garlic, olive oil.

20140523-072949-26989040.jpg

Then I started prepping the next days dinner, made my lunch for work, and finally got going on the string beans when there was about 8 mins left on the fish and rice. They were simply quick steamed then sautéed with olive oil, salt, and pepper. I’m getting much more diligent about salting food while cooking, and certainly noticing a difference.

Mister walked in the door at 615ish and about 5 minutes later we had dinner. I was a proud lady.

20140523-073140-27100459.jpg

Leave a Reply

