French Pastries

It’s no secret I enjoyed the two classes I had taken at Gio Culinary Studio, so obviously I babbled about the deliciousness to everyone who would listen. Thankfully, I managed to intrigue a friend enough for her to try a class with me.

Last night we went to his French pastry class where we learned: French macarons from start to finish, the pastry cream and pate choux for eclairs, quick puff pastry and frangipane filling for galettes, and chocolate ganache.

20140516-072628.jpg

20140516-072641.jpg

20140516-072650.jpg

20140516-072701.jpg

20140516-072709.jpg
Eating the galettes warm from the oven was my absolute favorite part. Seriously, I couldn’t focus on anything other than the flaky pastry and almost molten hot almond-y filling.

I’ll say it again, Chef Gio is great at showing everything start to finish and answering the endless questions that pop up along the way. There is no bait and switch: what we helped form is what we ate, no television theatrics of swap outs necessary. I’m not a baker, but after this class I find myself dreaming of silicone mats and a food scale to facilitate future endeavors.

And then I woke up at 5 am this morning to run, followed by a very long walk in the rain with my dog to overcome to groggy butter coma I had awoken from this morning.
Bring on the weekend.

Leave a Reply

