Happy Home

Today was a day of sunshine, errands, and some spring cleaning.

I started with some homemade meatballs. For this batch I did a mix of ground chuck, ground sirloin, breadcrumbs, minced garlic, minced onion, Parmesan, salt, and Italian seasoning.

Fry them in olive oil until golden brown and a little crispy.

20140406-170111.jpg

20140406-170118.jpg

Then transfer the meatballs to a paper towel lined plate, don’t worry about cooking them all the way through just yet.
>

20140406-170222.jpg

Wipe the pan out, but don’t wash it: a little grease is good flavor. A drizzle of oil gets added to the pan over very low flame. Then sliced onion and minced garlic. >

20140406-170339.jpg
Once those are softened, add in sauce of your choice. Mister donated a jar from his pantry to the cause. >

20140406-170458.jpg
Add the meatballs back to the pot, stir around, cover and let simmer.Then go mop the house and clean the bathroom. Dinner will be ready when you are.

20140406-170612.jpg

3 thoughts on “Happy Home

  1. I gotta tell you, if you’re cooking up a big batch of meatballs, it’s soooo much easier to bake them! They won’t get quite as crispy on the outside, but if you’re going to simmer them in sauce anyway, that doesn’t matter as much. No splattering grease, less mess, and you can just walk away while they’re cooking.

    • I’ve done that before, and was tempted to do it BUT I only made like 20 (boyfriend and I ate about 8 before dinner) and this way was only one dirty pot. If I’m making enough to freeze I’ll bake them. What meat do you use?

      • I’m Swedish, so I use all beef. Veal creeps me out and I’m not a huge fan of pork meatballs. I know lots of people use a mix. I also use oatmeal as the binder instead of breadcrumbs because that’s what my mom always used. And I eat oatmeal, so I always have it on hand, unlike breadcrumbs.

Leave a Reply

